I’m Going to Argentina?!

My trip to Mexico over Winter break really got me thinking. I so enjoyed speaking the language with the locals, learning about their day-to-day activities and hearing their life stories. When it was time to come back to the States I was a little more than disappointed. Not that I don’t love the US, I do! I geek out over the Forth of July and I sing the national anthem with a lot of zest. I do believe it is important to realize that their is a lot of world to explore though.

Back to the point. I started googling every tagline I could come up with to find the cheapest vacations/trips to a Spanish speaking country. I wanted more experiences and more opportunities to practice the language. I couldn’t justify staying for an extended period of time with no purpose though. I would get anxious to vacation for a long period of time in one place with no rhyme or reason to my doings. So I started looking into different possibilities; short stays, study abroad options, volunteering, etc. After much (and I mean a lot guys) contemplation I finally decided that volunteering abroad was the best option for me!

I then had to decide where I was headed and that was another process in and of itself. I made decisions based on cost, location, and need. Most of all though I prayed about it time and time again. I needed a sign and a boost of encouragement. I kept going back to one place with every search I did though and after everything I decided to volunteer at a small health clinic in Argentina! Everything is slowly falling into place, and I am incredibly excited for this opportunity. I will have more details in the future, but that is all for now!

Chasing realization,

XX. M.Lee

“Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path.” –Psalm 119:105

 

Leave a Reply

