13.1 Miles in the Making: Becoming a Runner

Hello all! So tomorrow marks the first day of actual training for one of the hardest things I have ever set my mind to. About a month ago I decided it was time to take the leap and sign up for my first half-marathon! My friend Melita and I have committed to training for the Colfax Half-Marathon in Denver in May, and I couldn’t be more excited. Melita has always been a runner, running in cross-country during high school and always living a very healthy life style. I always tried to be a runner… tried being the key word there. I would run with my friends, struggling and cursing the attempt with every step. Then something changed over the summer. I was dealing with personal issues and having trouble finding who I was and where I was headed. I was internally falling apart and was begging for an avenue to turn my mind off. There was always the unhealthy ways to turn ย the mind off; go out, numb the pain and wait until the next day to deal with problems. Something that I struggled with for only a short time before one day I went on a run.

I was angry about one thing or another and needed to channel that anger into something. As I was running I started off angry, pounding into the pavement with power; but somewhere during that run the anger turned into bliss. I suddenly honed contentment and clarity. I realized that the issue wasn’t that I needed to turn my mind off and numb myself from the world, but rather that I needed to WAKE UP. My thoughts became more clear and instead of my runs being out of anger they turned into the yearning of tranquility. I felt more alive not only when I was running, but the feeling lasted through the whole day. Now it wasn’t that I needed to go on a run because I was frustrated, thought that I could lose a few pounds, or wanted to prove something to someone else. No. Now I run because I feel calm, I feel alive, I feel like the world is a blessing that should be admired each and every day. I am so incredibly happy to finally be a RUNNER because with that term comes so many opportunities for awakening and insight in every area of life.

Now, heading into my first week of training, I am nervous but excited. The most encouraging part of the process is that I am solely competing with myself. I want to perform at my highest possible level come May, and if I train hard then no matter the outcome I will be proud of myself. I am excited for this opportunity and excited to use this blog as a form of accountability for my training! I will keep you updated!

Chasing realization.

xx. M.Lee

“The Lord upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.” Psalm 145:14

One Comment Add yours

  1. Malaika says:

    What a fantastic goal! Wishing you all the best ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

